Ending an Abusive Relationship, or, Why I Hate Bell Canada

I had a very tiny question to ask Bell Canada last week — I mean really trivial. My phone number had changed because of some harassing calls and I was unclear whether this would affect how I paid my Bell bill over the Internet. Easy question. One that you would think is actually fairly common.

So I called Customer Service, which in the land of Bell Canada, means a journey down some dark and twisty roads.

First off: put on hold, which is never promising. And then after speaking with five agents, being dropped not once but twice, and wasting 65 minutes of my life, not to mention the emotional trauma of becoming volcanically angry, I got an answer to my friggin’ question.

A bit of context. In the decades I have dealt with Bell Canada, I have called Customer Service maybe five times. And every time it has been the same story of ignorance, evasion and nonanswers. I cannot remember a pleasant, easy conservation with any Bell Canada service agent. I’m positive Bell Canada pisses off hundreds of customers daily. For how many is speaking to Customer Service agents the end of the line, so to speak ?

For me it was.

Bell Canada, I have put up with your condescension, your arrogance and your crap for 27 years. I kept thinking it would get better, but it hasn’t. And then I finally figured it out. We do not have a relationship of mutual respect. Our relationship consists of you abusing me, and me taking it and coming back asking for more. It is the classic relationship of the abuser and abused.

And guess what, Bell Canada? You aren’t a monopoly anymore. I don’t have to take it. I quit. I quit you and all your works. I know you don’t care if I go over to the competition. There are plenty more sheep. But I hope other people do in thousands and hundreds of thousands until you get the message: your customers need to be treated with respect. Because we won’t keep coming back.

, , ,

  1. #1 by thenonconformer on Monday 18 January 2010 - 2118

    It clearly now seems the Advertising Standards Canada itself is guilty of false, misleading advertising when it promises to deal adequately, quickly with the complaints presented to them like BELL.

    http://thenonconformer.wordpress.com/2010/01/18/so-much-for-any-promised-consumer-protecton/

  2. #2 by Lindsay on Sunday 25 July 2010 - 2152

    Hi!
    I am just discovering your blog and love it so much that I am now going through all the old posts and being WAY behind the times and commenting hahah – but anyways BELL CANADA %$#GJSRKGJ!~! I cannot agree with you more on this post….they have abused me for the last year or so and yet I still went and got MORE products from them – it ends here!! I will no longer get bell products. it has really become too much. They are so ignorant and they just. don’t. care.

    ughhh
    Thank you for this. I know there are more out there!

  3. #3 by Joanne Thorburn on Monday 20 September 2010 - 1957

    I moved into a new building that would not allow Bell Express Vu, so I had no choice but to switch to Rogers (they too, are monopolizing cocksuckers, however, it is cheaper if you switch everything to the same supplier, so I did. Bell Canada calls me 3 to 4 times a day, each & every day, including Sundays. They are retarded COCKSUCKERS! How can I get rid of them?

  4. #4 by Paul on Saturday 27 November 2010 - 1008

    Maybe there should be an ExBell /customr Support group? LOL
    I have had my own nightmares dealing with service including taking days and untold numbers of departments and call agents and three service agents to get my line back after they crossed it in the box cutting my long distance and opening it to a local business down the street!
    Needless to say I am no longer a customer though until I moved they continously stalked me with letters and cards!

    • #5 by Tammy on Monday 12 March 2012 - 1327

      Tell them to take you off their call list. Legally they can’t call you again after that. Give them another week of trying after telling them this and then sue their ass when they try again after the week. For harassment.

  5. #6 by big guy on Sunday 13 February 2011 - 2315

    i heat bell i wish they had to go bank rucpt and i wish the owner had to beg for money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. #7 by CSR on Monday 06 June 2011 - 1635

    Let’s see, why is our customer service so bad? Probably because we’re paid VERY little, I mean just above minimum wage. Also, we come in and the very first call of day is someone telling us how horrible we are. On top of that there’s a few other things:

    – We’re monitored every second of every day. Try being told every hour how many seconds you need to shave off your conversations, regardless of how much you’re trying to help the customer.

    – We’re treated like robots, training is in the stuffy boardroom every once in awhile (and our trainers are very good folk who do the best with what they have), but most of the time it’s just mass emails fired off from our TL’s who expect us retain information that’s outdated at best. And the documents which aren’t outdated, well, it sort of mixes in with all the other random garbage that comes through to us by way of Outlook, so it doesn’t last long in our short/long term memories.

    – I no longer have a name there, I have a number.

    – We have NO sick days, they claim we have 10 emergency days (which are ofcourse unpaid), but we’re treated like goblins if we use more than one or two.

    – Our turnover rate is so high I literally have to laugh to keep myself from crying.

    – Our hours can be changed at the drop of a dime, in other words, “Family? Sorry, you’ll have to schedule your Family around your job, and if you can’t, then it’s time to hand in your headset and swipe card”.

    – Our managers are shady, sales-driven slave owners who have the education and morals of a walnut. There’s one or two who actually see you as a human being, the rest tend to look at you as a potential money maker. And if you’re not the sales guru that they expect you to be? Well, just just say it goes along with the whole “Family” comment which preceded this one.

    – Bonuses, HA! We get a bonus once in a blue moon, just enough to keep us from going to the foodbank to feed our families.

    – Most of us are so drained at the end of the day, those of use who aren’t forced into addictions are too exhausted to do ANYTHING when 5:30 rolls around. I see my kid for maybe ten minutes before I’m locked into a fierce battle to keep my eyes open.

    – The union? Well, they’re decent, I have to admit. However, the company blames EVERYTHING on the union. They said “if you think your pay is too small, then the union should have asked for more during negotiations”. Hmmmmm, the union spends their time in negotiations fighting to keep what we have since the company is constantly trying to take things away and save a buck.

    – Abuse. Ahhhh yes, abuse. And I’m not talking physical, aside from beating our heads against the baffles for 8 hours a day. I’m talking about the constant drone of people yelling, screaming, crying, moaning, fighting with us over the phones for things which, quite often, we have no authority to give. And when we have to find a TL to ask for help? They can usually be found either outside smoking, sitting in their office with the door closed, or having a lively conversation about which agent screwed up the most. I do believe they have bets on which agent gets fired and when.

    – Evening staff. If you get a young lady on the line in the evening and she seems a little pre-occupied with something else aside from that $1.45 extra on your bill, please don’t be offended. She’s probably a little concerned about leaving the building, which is located smack dab in the middle of downtown, at night. We have no security on duty. The buses don’t run after a certain time and if you’re stuck on a call? Guess what, you’re finding your own way home. I’m not trying to be sexist, but a young woman walking through a deserted parking garage at 11:50pm is at risk of a whole range of possible dangers. But hey, that’s not important right? She’ll be fine and be back tomorrow morning to hop back on that phone and continue the constant offerings of apologies and one-sided resolutions.

    Now if I sound like a bitter employee, well, I guess I am. And I know, “if you don’t like it then quit”. Well, I hate to say it, but have you looked out there and found any employers willing to take on new hires? I haven’t seen any, and believe me I constantly try. I’m not the most intelligent person on earth, but I do have a very good education, but that doesn’t get your very far these days if you don’t know the right people in the right places. And besides, unemployment is not going support my family for very long, nor should they have to. So, the next agent you speak to, please try to be a little more patient, and understanding. We really do want to help you, I myself love solving people’s problems in a quick manner. There’s nothing better than knowing you’ve helped someone and made their day. But when you’re in our line of work, we’re not always the people who make the decisions, we’re just the ones who apologize for the lack of interest by those who DO make the decisions.

  7. #8 by Tammy on Monday 12 March 2012 - 1339

    Then do something about it. Have the union stage a walk out. If there’s no one managing the phones or selling the products for a couple of days I’m sure they will change their tune real quick. Stop being a wus. I am a single mom who has taken my co-op to court all by myself with no lawyer and 3 young children in tow. You want more time with your family then fight for them and stop playing the martyr. Don’t tell us there’s nothing you can do. There’s plenty you can do but nothing you want to do. I don’t mean to make this personally about you but for all the bell employees who feel the way you do. Wake up and smell the coffee it ain’t gonna get any better it will probably get worse so do something now before it’s 2 late. BTW HAVE A GREAT DAY.

  8. #9 by iLawrence on Saturday 15 December 2012 - 2211

    One Bill
    Thank you for choosing Bell.
    TV
    Important – Please note that effective January 1, 2013, the monthly price of your TV service will increase by $3.00 At any time, if you have questions or wish to add, modify, extend or cancel services, please call us at 310-BELL (2355).

    Home phone
    Important – Please note that effective January 1, 2013, the monthly price of your Home phone package will increase by $2.03. At any time, if you have questions or wish to add, modify, extend or cancel services, please call us at 310-BELL (2355).
    Important – Please note that effective January 1, 2013 the monthly price of Canada and US 500/1000 minute Block of Time and Digital Bundle Long Distance plans will increase by $2.00 each, and the price of Anytime Block of Time will increase by $3.00
    At any time, if you have questions or wish to add, modify, extend or cancel services, please call us at 310-BELL (2355).
    Important – Please note that effective January 1, 2013, the price of Home phone pay- per-use calling features will increase by $0.45 with a maximum monthly charge of $29.50, and Directory Assistance will increase by $0.50 per call. If you have any questions, please call us at 310-BELL (2355).

    This represents a yearly increase of $188.05 HST Included to my already blotted billings

    I feel like an abused spouse that can’t find a way to escape an abusive relationship !!!

    I am reaching out to the Pointless Forest screaming in silence.

    HELP ME…PLEASE !!!!

  9. #10 by Handmaiden on Wednesday 03 April 2013 - 1721

    Hate, hate, hate Bell Canada. Their customer service reps are not trained…at least not in service…maybe in scamming. Tried to cancel service. Was lied to several times, trying to make it sound like it’s my fault they charge so much. I will do anything to never have to deal with that evil, greedy corporation again.

  10. #11 by Brad on Friday 19 December 2014 - 0104

    I totally agree, Bell is the shittiest company to deal with ever. EVER. They should have gone out of business years ago. They feed you lies at every step and are incapable of resolving simple issues. The store tells you to call in, the call centre tells you to go to back to the store. Eventually after being on hold for hours and dealing with a dozen different (inept) reps you feel like you are losing your mind and just give up because the rage is unhealthy. They won’t put anything in writing so you don’t know what you are paying for and they don’t deliver what they say they will. You hang onto the hope that it will get better and they will just do the right thing, because why wouldn’t they, it is just common decency. But no, they screw you again and then again, then they have the nerve to call you and ask for feedback because your business is important to them, and they offer up more false promises to try to lock you back in for more abuse. I have been fucked over to the point I get seething mad every time someone so much as mentions Bell. I feel sorry for their staff because it must be the shittiest place to work (ok fine, in the 1st world at least). My contract with these smug crooks is up in February and they can shove their promises up their asses because they don’t deserve any more of my money. Pathetic and unethical. Fuck Bell. FUCK BELL.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,260 other followers

