Drinking the Management Kool-Aid

So my dilemma, in which you will notice I am being even more circumspect and misdirecting than usual, because I am certainly paranoid of my real nursey identity being discovered and picked over.

A certain low-level managerial type resigned unexpectedly and I’m debating whether to leave the safe and comfortable role of crusty-and-cynical-yet-caring (somewhat, under favourable circumstances) Emergency Nurse to do something new and for which I am actually qualified, and also to put my money where my mouth is as far as management and managers go — and God knows, they are a constant source of mockery and derision.

So the Pro:

  • a chance to actually improve the lives of my colleagues
  • increased money
  • a modicum of prestige
  • no more shift work
  • am being strenuously urged to apply by several of my peers and even some managers

The Con:

  • drinking the blue management Kool-Aid
  • being transformed into a dink, by increments
  • dealing with the pit of snakes that is low-level management at Acme Regional (and trust me, it truly is a pit)
  • having presently one of the coolest jobs around
  • having generally a poor, incorrect attitude (at least towards managers)
  • having a big, opinionated mouth and being unable to govern it accordingly

Also I am thinking that yesterday, I helped save a life. And I helped save a life on Friday. It doesn’t get better than that.

So I am leaning towards . . . nah.

Any thoughts?

, , ,

  1. #1 by wilomis on Monday 30 November 2009 - 2356

    The koolaid is delicious and you’ll drink it and love it…… and also its not blue… its blueberry blast super awesome fun flavour…. (spelled your way, not mine)

  2. #2 by torontoemerg on Tuesday 01 December 2009 - 1302

    That sounds ominous and a little frightening. :)

  3. #3 by Gert on Tuesday 01 December 2009 - 1302

    Gotta go with your gut in the end…..management sounds better than it often is….and with no overtime pay it often turns into less pay per hour.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,255 other followers

