This and That and a Couple of Questions

Wish I had Said It: An article in the Guelph Mercury, by Tracie Parr RN, “in honour of her fellow nurses at Guelph General Hospital.”  Should be passed out to patients at Triage. Excerpt:

I am the one who keeps you in mind as I look bleakly at our system, and my workload, and the limitations I have to work within. I am the one who often trembles inside with fear and adrenaline yet still choose to give all that I can, while I can, from the moment I walk in the door until my mind allows me to sleep at the end of the day.

I am your target, as your frustration builds from the waiting and uncertainty. I know about discomfort, and I see the frustration as you watch while others are granted entry and the waiting is merciless.

But while you wait, did you know that I am also the one who is caring for someone else whose life is more troubled than yours?

Read the full article here.

Ankle Update: Up and about on it for short periods of time, but anything more than ten or fifteen minutes is very uncomfortable. Been wathing a colossal amount of television, probably more in the past three or four days than I’ve watched in a couple of years, and I’m stunned by the the equally colossal amount of shit being broadcast. You tend to forget. Good thing I have drugs to dull the pain — and the senses.

From Nuts to Soup: My newest favourite comfort food is Italian Wedding soup. Anyone know a good recipe? I’m almost afraid to ask: making all those tiny meatballs is surely a nuisance.

New Laptop: I’m on the active hunt for a new laptop — old Bessie, on whom I’m writing this post — is increasingly unreliable and unable to deal with the demands of high speed wireless. I’m a bit bewildered by the choices. Any recommendations?

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by JennJilks on Monday 29 March 2010 - 1305

    Ankle: we invented Rx for a reason. Take it Easy!

    Soup: I try not to cook… gimme a can anytime!

    New Laptop: Go MAC, GO MAC, GO MAC! MacBookPro
    Makes blogging easy and fun. Skyping with granddaughter, sharing photos is a blast.

    /Mac user since 1988!

  2. #2 by Natrice Rese PSW Canada Researcher on Monday 29 March 2010 - 1310

    i love my HP laptop…I dont know all the ins and outs of it, but Windows 7 seems to be an improvement ..
    I liked your blog today, it’s nice to get inside the head of the nursing staff…hugss

  3. #3 by Ali on Monday 29 March 2010 - 1511

    That is a great article. Thanks for sharing it.

    I’ll admit, I love my MacBook. I had a Dell when in school, but when it died without any notice I was converted to the blissful work of the Mac and will recommend it to anyone.

  4. #4 by shrtstormtrooper on Monday 29 March 2010 - 1714

    Yeah, I drank the kool-aid 3 years ago and switched to Mac…and I will NEVER go back! They’re fabulous!

    Thanks for posting the article, and I’m glad to hear your ankle is improving – slowly, but improvement is good!

  5. #5 by Maha on Tuesday 30 March 2010 - 1719

    I’ve had a toshiba and HP and I’ve been very happy with them. But I think my next laptop will be a Mac. I can’t stop using my sister’s Mac and she might beat me up if I don’t stop :P

    Glad to hear your ankle is getting better and you’re right – tv is full of crap. Rent movies instead. Give ‘An Education’ a chance. I really liked that movie and it’s out on DVD now.

    Haven’t been in the mood for soup but I did make nutella cheesecake. My abdominal girth increased ten-fold after eating that bad boy!

  6. #6 by mog on Tuesday 30 March 2010 - 1838

    We have Windows 7 Pro on an Asus and it is yummy. V fast, huge screen, no problems at all. Cheaper than a Mac.

  7. #7 by deBeauxOs on Wednesday 31 March 2010 - 1719

    Anything but a Dell – cheap, but terrible service.

    I have a desktop set-up that I purchased from a neighbourhood PC retail place (not a chain!!!) that is great for yearly maintenance, as well as a Mac laptop, also from a local business.

    My recommendation is that whatever brand you get, try to purchase it from a reputable, local retailer that has staff that are actually helpful and provides real service support.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,255 other followers

