Hello, TorontoEmerg, This is You Brain Calling

How I spent the last few days and how this relates to my plans for the coming week.

I spent the better part of Friday preparing to get drunk, and then, in fact, getting drunk. Far, far too drunk. This is funny, because I never drink, being the soul of moderation.

Saturday was the day after the night before.

Sunday I nearly went to church, but didn’t because I procrastinated till it was too late to go (I was writing a blog post, actually), and then I went shopping. I know I’ve said I’m a Christian and so on, and Christians are not supposed to drink to excess and even Sunday shopping is a little frowned upon — but I never said I was a good Christian. I’m hardly even a mediocre Christian. Too mouthy. Anyway, I also went to my new favourite all-you-can-eat sushi restaurant, perhaps to soothe the guilt of not doing my religious duty. I am a little embarrassed to relate I’m eating there so frequently the owner has given me a little card making me a “V.I.P customer” which entitles me to 10% off lunch and dinner. Last time I went he gave me a plate of delicious steamed mussels though they aren’t on the all-you-can-eat menu. This worried me, a little. When a man gives you a plate of steamed mussels in front of your husband, I think there is something going on. I was quite anxious about this. Would he repeat his free mussel performance? I glanced nervously toward the kitchen every few moments. I felt as though God was punishing me by wrecking my lunch. However, there were no further mussels.

Monday, I took  friend and her diabetic cat to the vet, then ended up shopping some more, which is very surprising, because I loathe shopping the same way some people loathe Justin Bieber. Incidentally, I saw his doll at 50% off. We intended just to run into the mall “for just a minute” at 1115 and stayed so long our planned lunch metamorphosed into supper.

Filed under the category of It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time is the fact that I’m working four day shifts in a row beginning today.

All of which is to say, posting may be light and insubstantial over the next few days. I don’t even have any ideas for light and insubstantial posts. I have no blog posts written in advance. I used up my emergency reserve post a couple of weeks ago.  My brain has gone on vacation.

I am a bad blogger.

I hang my head. In shame.

, ,

  1. #1 by Dr Dean on Tuesday 04 January 2011 - 1019

    Acknowledging that you are a bad blogger is the first step to blogger recovery. And any Christian who hasn’t sinned is lying.

    That is what grace is for!

    I am sure your brain will recover, and you will be more productive soon.

    Your posts are worth waiting for, IMHO!
    Happy New Year!

  1. Tweets that mention Hello, TorontoEmerg, This is You Brain Calling « Those Emergency Blues -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,254 other followers

