In Which I Perform Tricks Like A Pony

By which I mean I went for an interview for that management position a few days ago. I got out the clothes I wear for state occasions, and marvelled, not for the first time, at how cat hair can get into an essentially hermetically-sealed closet. I bathed for some time in the milk of a ass, plucked out stray hairs, got dressed. I miscalculated the traffic and arrived a half hour early, just so I could had that extra bit of time to work on wreaking my composure. As as I walked to the location of the interview, I thought to myself, “I am such a fraud.”

The interview went well, as far as anyone can tell with these things. I got the usual questions. My strengths. Why I wanted the job. What leadership qualities would I bring. I spoke with conviction, I think, and I hope with eloquence  and even passion. I left feeling somewhat less fraudulent.

I have no idea if I got the position. Professional friendliness and an air of inscrutability set the tone. Two interesting things though. First, though I knew only one of the panel (of five!), they all knew me, or rather of me. Second, the panel deviated from the script of questions a few times — not to trip me up, but because they were genuinely interested in my opinions. I went into the interview with no expectations of actually being hired — maybe that was liberating. In any case, these give me reason to be mildly optimistic. We’ll see.

, ,

  1. #1 by Lisa on Sunday 20 February 2011 - 1143

    awesome. i hope you get it. i hope their questions show they are smart enough to see you deserve the job.

  2. #2 by Cartoon Characters on Sunday 20 February 2011 - 1735

    I am curious. What do you mean by this: “I am such a fraud.”

    • #3 by torontoemerg on Sunday 20 February 2011 - 2141

      Just generally feeling insecure, like I don’t belong, I’m just a bedside RN — I was thinking tonight if I get this position, it will be the first time in my nursing career I have not worn scrubs to work. Literally.

  3. #4 by Cartoon Characters on Friday 25 February 2011 - 0201

    That is interesting. You know, although I have been a nurse for 35 years, and I am proficient in my areas of specialty, and have mentored and kept up with the latest….I feel the same at times. That is very curious to me – that level of insecurity that makes us do that to ourselves…sometimes to the point of sabatoge. I do see insecurities expressed among new nurses…..and you would expect that. But among veteran nurses? Very curious how we put ourselves down like that….

    • #5 by torontoemerg on Wednesday 02 March 2011 - 1147

      Yeah, well, I’ll blame my mother.

  4. #6 by Nurse K on Friday 25 February 2011 - 0315

    If you get hired…Congrats! You’ll be working 60 hours a week, taking a huge paycut, giving up TV, and have to take 24/7 call!!! This in addition to being markedly less appreciated and having at least one person (some self-loathing middle-aged woman usually) backstab you per week at a minimum.

    Every once in awhile you make a difference though and then you can feel kinda like it was worth it temporarily.

    • #7 by torontoemerg on Wednesday 02 March 2011 - 1146

      Thanks… you make it seem so glamourous! :)

      Still no word, btw. . .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,245 other followers

