MScN vs. MPH vs. MBA

As I’ve mentioned, I’m thinking seriously about doing my Master’s degree. So which degree? MScN? MPH? MBA? There’s a cool looking MBA programme with an emphasis in community development and public service I’ve seen. Is there any value in getting an MScN if you’re going into management? Anyone have any thoughts on this?

  1. #1 by Miss-elaine-ious on Sunday 20 February 2011 - 1619

    MScN for teaching nursing
    MBA for hospital admin
    MPH for health unit or hospital admin.

    That’s the way I understood it anyway. Have you thought about U of T’s health admin MSc?

  2. #2 by Joni Watson on Sunday 20 February 2011 - 1621

    As usual, I’m biased. :) I have a MSN and a MBA through a dual program. It was a good decision for me. If you have to choose only one and you’re pretty sure you’re going into management, I say choose the MBA. Not many nurses have the education/degree, and it is greatly needed…makes you think from a different perspective. I loved the courses.

  3. #3 by Sean on Sunday 20 February 2011 - 1625

    Ack! Management. Whew.. Not my cup of tea. Glad you have an interest.

  4. #4 by Cartoon Characters on Sunday 20 February 2011 - 1731

    I’m with Sean! :P
    Good luck!

  5. #5 by Terri Schmitt on Sunday 20 February 2011 - 1748

    It depends on where you live, your hospital’s accrediting body, and what you want to do 10 years from now.
    I like the idea of an MSN/MPH or MSN/MBA dual track, in the U.S. we have a few. MBA’s are great, but hospitals in the U.S. who have magnet status and other accreditation must require nurse managers to hold a graduate degree in nursing, plus this is versatile if you want to move into something else like writing, publication (which you would be EXCELLENT at), nursing education, running a nursing health clinic, moving into nursing research, advanced practice, project management, etc…
    The nurse leadership, advanced nurse executive tracks that many schools have is an excellent option for leadership and nursing.
    You will do well no matter what you choose I am sure!

  6. #6 by Janelle on Tuesday 22 February 2011 - 2236

    I personally am biased towards getting an MPH, as I finished mine in 2005, worked in the field for awhile and am now getting my PhD. I agree with those above, I think you need to define what your longterm career goals are and then go forward from there. I’m in the U.S., so it might be a slightly different focus here.

  7. #7 by ednursesauras on Wednesday 23 February 2011 - 0040

    I’m considering a MSJ (Master’s of Jurisprudence) in Health Law, for health professionals (not lawyers). I just can’t stomach another nursing course.

  1. Mscn definition | Fitoimage

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,254 other followers

