I Love All My Children Equally

In the Resus Room the other day, the patient an elderly female patient presenting with a vague chest pain and a pair of (overly) doting children, a son and daughter. The patient herself is quite stoic and calm, bemused by all the ado, the children less so.

We generally allow only one visitor at a time into the Resus room. First up is the daughter. She fusses and coos and adjusts the blankets. The patient pats her daughter’s hand and says, “This is my favourite child. She’s the best.”

“I’m sure,” I say, “you say that about all your kids.”

“No,” she says firmly. “She’s my favourite.” The daughter positively beams.

The son trades places with the daughter. He fusses and coos and adjusts the blankets. The patient pats his hand and without batting an eye, she says, “This is my favourite child. He’s the best!”

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jenn Jilks on Tuesday 22 March 2011 - 1418

    There’s a momma who knows how to win as a parent!!!!

  2. #2 by Barbara O'Brien on Wednesday 23 March 2011 - 1440

    Those Emergency Blues,

    My name is Barbara O’Brien and I am a political blogger. Just had a question about your blog and couldn’t find an email—please get back to me as soon as you can (barbaraobrien(at)maacenter.org)

    Thanks,
    Barbara

  3. #3 by The Nerdy Nurse on Sunday 27 March 2011 - 1344

    I love it!

  4. #4 by Joe on Tuesday 29 March 2011 - 0815

    Hello.

    The patient in your post reminds me of my late mom, big time!
    She had nine ‘favourite’ children! All of us grew up feeling her unconditional love and incredibly compassionate care, and if asked, any nine of us would say we were our mom’s favourite. Before becoming a professional mom, she was taking nursing.
    Thanks for the smile. I like the niche your blog sits in – very interesting and with tons of possibilities of things to write about.
    I put a post on my blog early Nov 2010, actually I think it was my first post, of my five day stay in an Ontario hospital to treat my diverticulitis. Take a gander if you’d like. Have a nice day. Cheers.
    Joe

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,245 other followers

