What I Found in my Garden

A turtle.

I remember as a child reading about turtles (or tortoises) in England, where all proper gardens seemed to have one — and being rather charmed by the idea. So I’m pretty pleased this gentleman (or lady) is residing in mine, even if temporarily. Every garden needs a turtle, in my opinion. (Under this crusty exterior, you see, lurks a sentimental fool.)

I have no idea of the species, but I’m guessing it’s a painted turtle. You can get an idea of the size by the paving bricks.

Also, a purely gratuitous cat picture, since I haven’t posted one of the wee moggie in a while. She looks so, well, innocent, doesn’t she?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by onlinenursing on Wednesday 24 August 2011 - 1505

    Awwwww… I love turtles. I used to pick them up as a child, put them in a box outside overnight and they would always be gone in the morning. My mom swore they got out on their own, but I think she helped them :). Thanks for sharing the picture and bringing up excellent child hood memories.

  2. #2 by Jenn Jilks on Wednesday 24 August 2011 - 1505

    Found a bat under my garden umbrella today. I take your turtle any day!

  3. #3 by Boris on Wednesday 24 August 2011 - 1506

    Oh! Lucky you! I think that’s actually a Blanding’s Turtle. They are a threatened species, and can live for up to 80 years!

    http://www.rom.on.ca/ontario/risk.php?doc_type=fact&id=317

    http://www.pc.gc.ca/nature/eep-sar/itm3/eep-sar3b.aspx

  4. #4 by neeroc on Wednesday 24 August 2011 - 1549

    Oh very cool! We have an indoor red-eared slider and I’ve always loved finding painted turtles in the garden. If it is a painted, there should be red spots on the edges of the shell and the head should have yellow stripes. If the entire bottom jaw is yellow and there are yellow spots on the carapace I think it’s a Blanding’s which is considered endangered.

  5. #5 by nicki on Thursday 25 August 2011 - 0114

    That is sooo cool! The best thing I ever found in my garden was a caterpillar that seemed to be alien. It was humongous! But this is wayyy more exciting!

  6. #6 by Halie (Scrubs editor) on Thursday 25 August 2011 - 1816

    I found a turtle about a year ago in my yard. Definitely a good omen!

  7. #7 by Franck on Monday 17 October 2011 - 0502

    This post is fantastic !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,256 other followers

