Curse You, Google!

The usual DSI back pains are getting cleverer. Instead of the usual Toradol allergy, they’re getting sneaky and saying they’re allergic to all NSAIDs.

Which is the word they use, EN-saids. Like we do. And all of them? You’ve had a life-threatening  reaction to each and every one?

Yep.

And how does this allergy manifest itself?

“I get wheals, and hives and angioedema.”

Uhuh. And who in hell uses “wheals” and “angioedema” in everyday language?

Next patient.

And you’re still not getting any narcs.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by maha on Sunday 15 November 2009 - 1539

    I had a patient play the usual “I’m allergic to everything but that medicine that starts with D… demoral… dilaural…” Eventually, she said, she’s allergic to everything but “demlaudid”. I made sure she got some ‘demlaudid’ – ie: 30 of toradol and go home!

  2. #2 by Anonymous on Monday 16 November 2009 - 1802

    Hahaha I’m glad I don’t get those in my ward, but it’s fun to read yours and Maha’s adventures with them! I think the worst I’ve had was a teenager who insisted that she doesn’t swallow pills and wanted the liquid suspension of her 625mg of Tylenol… nope, not even the chewable tablets were good enough.

  3. #3 by NurseMe on Tuesday 17 November 2009 - 2211

    I give my patients a new drug. It’s called Ketorolac. Works like a charm and wouldn’tcha know, no wheals, hives or angioedema.

  4. #4 by Kym on Tuesday 19 January 2010 - 0415

    My niece really is allergic to all NSAIDS and has to wear a medic alert bracelet. Unfortunately, she now has MS too. Her single sibling, a brother has MD and has been in a wheelchair since he was 13. Genetic lottery didn’t pan out for that family.

  5. #5 by Kym on Thursday 21 January 2010 - 0654

    p.s. She doesn’t get hives or anything either. Her eyes just roll back in their sockets over and over again. Looks horrible.

Leave a Reply

