New Year’s

No resolutions, year-end lists or anything like that. Just a good poem that was passed on to me some time ago by a friend. I haven’t been able to find out more about the author.

what an end, my love, what a sea

now, thinking back,
i recognize your ambition of breath
against stillness. of
protest. of hemming the shadows.
you saw the violet truth
that every breathing gift vanishes and so
you refracted the fading light in
tidal pools and
created new fires.

you are capable, in an instant, of
being exceptionally immense on the tiniest surface.
your every place so full of presence and
summer, they can say nothing neutral about your
biography; the mauve memory of your eyes accepting
a departure on a dark brown evening.

and so just this: light shifts and
skin disappears.
dark revealing roses.

this is a world permanent with wind.
we have broken arrows, but we have water, light.
for all of us, you scoured the night and left it brighter,
soaked in cinema and tulips.

Michele Thorsen

, ,

  1. #1 by Michele Thorsen on Saturday 30 January 2010 - 0045

    Hi there: My name is Michele Thorsen and I am the author of the poem “what an end, my love, what a sea.” It is a poem I wrote for my father’s funeral. If you would like to contact me, please do so at the e-mail address above.

    –michele

  2. #2 by torontoemerg on Saturday 30 January 2010 - 0411

    Michele — can you email me at torontoemergencyrn(at)gmail(dot)com? You email doesn’t show and I would like to explain how I came to have the poem, and I have a couple of other questions as well.

Leave a Reply

