Dr. Weanus Rearranges the Furniture

Dr. Weanus, dire and annoyed, calls a hasty conference of myself (as charge) and the nurse educator. He cannot, it seems, work under these conditions any longer. He cannot effectively practice his art. His patient care is suffering! If there is no change, if we do not amend our ways, he says he may be forced to cancel his coverage at Acme Regional altogether, and retreat to the quiet comfort of an office practice.

Do not tempt us, we think, but instead inquire as to the disaster which has provoked these threats.

He leads us to the Resus Room. Empty, tidy for once, trays stocked, tubes in their places and at the ready, cables untangled and hanging neatly by the monitors.

What? we ask.

Can’t you see it?

See what?

“The overbed tables are on the left side,” he finally says. “How can I efficiently examine patients on their right, if the tables are in the way?”

“Um, push them out of the way?” asks the educator.

We are actually laughing out loud when we leave the Resus Room

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by JennJilks on Saturday 06 February 2010 - 1119

    I knew, when I saw ‘Dr. Weanus’ in the title that it would be hilarious. I was not disappointed. But, this reminds me of a principal I had. We called her ‘The Princess’. She once called me to task (in the middle of the school library – ‘Jenn, Do me a favour?’) – for appearing in public, outside the door of the local pharmacy, when I was home on a sick day. Some parent had seen me, I was getting a Rx – imagine!

    Civilian question: what is a Resus Room?

    • #2 by torontoemerg on Sunday 07 February 2010 - 1037

      Resus Room=Resuscitation Room, ie. we’re the sickest patients hang out.

  2. #3 by Art Doctor on Saturday 06 February 2010 - 1225

    Dr. Whiney sounds accurate.

    I totally believe in Andropause.

  3. #4 by Maha on Saturday 06 February 2010 - 1919

    If only Dr. Weanus knew how much amusement and fodder he provides for conversations and blogging! We have a resident on the internal medicine service that always complains about the overhead lamp being too low for him to feel safe. Now instead of pushing it further up, I let it hang down and see how long it would take for him to bang his head against it. If we’re really bored, we start a little gambling pool.

Leave a Reply

