Bears Repeating

In my drug-addled state, I completely forgot to point out the conversation in the comments of this post, including some very insightful, thoughtful comments by faithful reader Zoe. Please check them out. Excerpt:

One last thing (I’m coming off nights, and I’m tired…need sleep!)…one of the biggest struggles we had was not from within the ER itself. Imho, despite the question of “what’s wrong with emergency” being raised repeatedly over the years, I am of the opinion that there is NOTHING wrong with emergency. We actually function quite well, and quite efficiently. Think of a shift you worked when there happened to be ample beds available, and there were few admits in the dept. Think hard, I know it was probably a long time ago… What were wait times like? I’m guessing wait times were minimal. That’s because (and it bears repeating) THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE EMERGENCY DEPARTMENT! We are accustomed to dealing with volume, and we know how to get things to flow smoothly. The problem is getting the rest of the hospital to play along. The struggle and fight is from imaging, x-ray, lab, cardiology, the wards, and physicians not from the ER. There, I said it.

Amen, and thank you.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by DreamingTree on Thursday 01 April 2010 - 1900

    This really goes for everyone. It’s frustrating when one department refuses to cooperate with another. On my end, I rarely delay accepting an admission from the ER (or report). It’s our job. My main complaint about the job is that we are consistently asked to do more, faster, but with less staff.

  2. #2 by X-ray tech on Saturday 03 April 2010 - 1046

    It does go for everyone. ER is not the only understaffed and overworked department in a hospital. As an x-ray tech I am not ‘not playing along’ with ER but working as fast as I can, taking requests for imaging from other departments and out patients, not just ER. I work alone, I have to try and transfer patients from stretcher and wheelchairs by myself or wait until an ER nurse is free to help. That can be a struggle and a fight. I have to transport the patients to and from ER pushing a stretcher and an IV pole.

    Oh and there may be some paperwork to do, plus some equipment QA, some cleaning..

    Nurses are not the only people who work hard in hospitals

Leave a Reply

