In Which I’m Suddenly A Critic

Saw an episode of the dramatization of Vincent Lam’s collection of stories, Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures a few nights ago on HBO.

My reaction: Meh.

Part of it was that it all seemed a bit formless. Then there were the faux bits of magical realism, thrown in, one suspects, for the sake of trendiness. And what about verisimilitude?

Let me demonstrate à la Perez Hilton:

Look, if you’re gonna spend a gazillion dollars ensuring high production values, at least shell out some cash to buy some half-decent Littmans.

Geez.

Also, in medical dramas, is it actually possible to have an ugly resident? Hell, I’d settle for an average looking one.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Maha on Friday 02 April 2010 - 1403

    You owe me a coffee for making me snort and chuckle at your Perez Hilton style criticism of their cheap stethoscopes. Well done!

  2. #3 by wilomis on Saturday 03 April 2010 - 0045

    but doctors are supposed to be dreamy…… it makes it easy to tell a patient they are dying if you have beautiful, soulful eyes

  3. #4 by paedsnurse on Saturday 03 April 2010 - 2348

    Hahahaha I got a good laugh out of the “cheap stethescopes”. It’s true though, I keep seeing the cheap stuff! And it makes me laugh even more when they put them in their ears backwards!

Leave a Reply

