The First Day

The first official day as charge yesterday. Still wielding my cane, which I have taken to calling my “paramedic-beating stick” or my “doctor-beating stick” or my “5 South Charge Nurse-beating stick”, as the case may be or as the mood strikes me.

How did it go?

I have to say . . . I was AWESOME. And the nurses working with me were AWESOME. And together we were so AWESOME that we were noticed by some Very Important Non-Emergency Department Personages and were publicly praised in front of my manager for our Complete and Utter Awesomeness.

Sorry, I can’t go into details.  Suffice to say, it was your typical emergency department meltdown/cluster. And did I mention, it was AWESOME?

It might have been one of the best days I have ever had as an RN. Truly.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by JennJilks on Thursday 15 April 2010 - 1028

    Excellent to read. Well done!

  2. #2 by skdadl on Thursday 15 April 2010 - 1102

    AWESOME! ;-)

  3. #3 by Halie on Thursday 15 April 2010 - 1532

    So happy you got the recognition you deserve! Nurse don’t get thanked enough for all they do. Good job!

  4. #4 by wilomis on Thursday 15 April 2010 - 1856

    I am imagining you as a cane wielding force of sarcastic yet compassionate verbal assault!!! All hail and serve Charge TorEm, RN!

  5. #5 by shrtstormtrooper on Friday 16 April 2010 - 0802

    It’s all downhill from here :)

    Kidding. Sort of… But seriously, congrats on the fabulous first day of charge!

  6. #6 by Nat on Saturday 17 April 2010 - 1624

    Lovely!! So pleased!

  7. #7 by DreamingTree on Wednesday 21 April 2010 - 0905

    Congrats on a great start!

Leave a Reply

