Three Million Dollars I Will Never See

Another float in the Parade of the Blindingly Obvious:

A 3 year, 3 million dollar study into how nurses and other health care providers can reduce the time they spend on administrative tasks or retrieving medical supplies , so they can spend more time with their patients is underway in Saskatchewan.

Um, how about 1) hiring staff to perform administrative tasks, because paying me $42 an hour for data entry is probably not a good use of resources, and 2) moving supplies to where I actually do my work and ensuring the supply carts are well-organized and stocked.

Can I have my $3 million now?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Anne Silva on Monday 02 August 2010 - 1008

    Hired!

    LOL…good post…short…sweet…to the point ;)

  2. #2 by JennJilks on Monday 02 August 2010 - 1224

    Isn’t it the truth? This is the same in education, Children’s Services. More paperwork, more CYA, and less time with clients.

  3. #3 by Maha on Monday 02 August 2010 - 1428

    And this is why my brain would explode if I had to review research like this all day!

  4. #4 by CanNurse on Monday 02 August 2010 - 1841

    As a Sask. Nurse, I want to say THANKS for the blog on this! I & majority of colleagues are all FURIOUS about this! We are drowning here, the Sk. Health Boards are top heavy with non-health background “business types”, as are the myriad of endless admin. positions now in the system, all sorting papers, not talking to each other let alone actual working staff, & costing a ridiculous amount of money for not much of anything to do with actual HEALTH CARE. Let alone Patient Care!! Under-staffed, over-bureacratized & heavy cut-backs – all at the behest of our relatively new Sask. Party government (read Stephen Harper clones).
    You post is great, except I’d add one thing. Fire a whole whack of the bureaucrats & hire more NURSES!
    Thanks for letting me vent!

    • #5 by torontoemerg on Monday 02 August 2010 - 2024

      No problem. About the venting, that is. I would have did my usual let’s-fire-all-the-administrators schtick, but I figured you guys were getting tired of it. Maybe not.

  5. #6 by Barry on Monday 02 August 2010 - 1953

    Silly nurses! The answer obviously is to cut healthcare funding and staffing… ah, I mean, trim the Fat and find Efficiencies… If we can just take enough money out of the system then things will be all super-duper!

  1. Tweets that mention Three Million Dollars I Will Never See « Those Emergency Blues -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

