Thanksgiving Muttering

What is it about cooking six hours a dinner that’s (effectively) over in 20 minutes?

I swear this will be the last year I do the dry-bird-on-a-fancy-platter routine. Of course, I swear every year this turkey will be my last.

Or my problem might be I’m not drunk enough yet. Which makes me wonder: how many cheerful family holidays are remembered through the rosy glow of a glass of port? I’m thinking more than a few.

Don’t bother pointing out I should be Thankful. I am, for more than a few graces, but being in a snit is really working for me right now.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Jenn Jilks on Monday 11 October 2010 - 1737

    I have so many happy memories of my mom and dad creating a turkey dinner.

    I love turkey, hubby does not. We went out for dinner as the kid were busy.
    Kids have in-laws and out-laws they visit and/or feed turkey to. I would be grateful for some turkey!

    In a reversal, my daughter is bringing me a care package on Wednesday when she brings the girls for a visit!

  2. #2 by nurseXY on Tuesday 12 October 2010 - 0935

    Holidays at their finest. :)

  3. #3 by Nicki on Wednesday 13 October 2010 - 0823

    Hey, I am with you. I am at the point where I don’t want to do anything on Christmas! It isn’t that I don’t want to see the family. It is just that for once, I would love to JUST enjoy my hubbie and kids without the fuss and the rush. Just a day of sitting in our jammies, playing with our new toys, not worrying about the house being clean and dinner being perfect or being late to the 2:00 dinner!

Leave a Reply

