Lose Weight by Breastfeeding!

Clever, but effective? A New York State public service announcement. [Via Osocio.]

My take: until the culture normalizes breastfeeding, even appealing to post-partum insecurities isn’t going to do much. And is highlighting pregnancy weight gain really the way to go?

, ,

  1. #1 by Dawn on Friday 22 October 2010 - 1620

    I nurse all my babies, I’ve had 7. I gain weight sometimes when nursing (after the initial decline in the first three months) because breast feeding makes me hungry, and because I do so love chocolate. It’s not always that weight is lost. I do loose weight after I stop breastfeeding because I don’t have the appetite.

  2. #2 by Pissed Off Patient on Friday 22 October 2010 - 1811

    What a lovely blog you have.

    This post made me laugh. Breastfeeding never resulted in weight loss for me. I think it’s statistically akin to the supermodel population. About 1% of us have that beauty and about 1% of us will lose weight breastfeeding.

    So, being American, can I sue them for false advertising?

    M

  3. #3 by jenjilks on Saturday 23 October 2010 - 2019

    I usually ate enough to keep up with my kids who ate their fill. At least we know this is a good thing for mothers.

    My daughter is breastfeeding. I breastfed. Middle age has brought some weight gains. Whotthehell.

    The midwifery program in Ontario is fabulous. My girl gave birth at home. I remember fighting for midwives to be accredited in Ontario when she was a baby, 30+ years ago. So glad is has been made so.

Leave a Reply

