Hildegarde Speaks

Courtesy of the ever-resourceful Vernon Dutton (TwitterFlickr). The interview has been unfortunately truncated, but it still well worth watching.

Peplau on editors who wanted to mangle her book: “No, we’re not going to do that.”

, , ,

  1. #1 by Cartoon Character on Thursday 18 November 2010 - 1143

    I agree that the public never knows half of it – partly because of confidentiality laws and partly because when a lawsuit may be pending, it is a good idea not to make comments. Mostly, I would say that care given is great in most ERs in Canada….I know that I have had less than adequate experience in my local ER at times….but given other options….I still say that I prefer our system over others. More than 90% of Canadians, in a recent poll – have said the same.
    Anyway – good news never gets in the newsfeed. How interesting is it to report ” 100s of lives were saved today by ER nurses and MDs”??? – it just isn’t newsworthy.

  2. #2 by Cartoon Character on Thursday 18 November 2010 - 1145

    oops sorry. I commented on the wrong post. :(

  3. #3 by Art Doctor on Thursday 18 November 2010 - 1228

    What a phenomenal woman! I admire her persistence and determination. At her older age now, she is still very sharp, and it probably stems from her academic background. I watched a video after with Nursing students demonstrating her theory to understand what she pioneered—brilliant!

Leave a Reply

