Some Winter Colour for Dreary Days

During my last inconvenience, I was casting about for something to do that could leave me within easy reach of the facilities. My eye caught a Pelargonium, one I actually grew from seed 20 years ago. (It pleases me in a strange way to think I have a geranium potentially older than some of my readers!) At any rate, out came the macro lens and the tripod, and with the help of a new computer and kick-ass photo editing software that eats 56 MB RAW files for breakfast, this is the result. The first and last are of the geranium (Pelargonium ‘Picasso’). This particular cultivar I don’t think is produced anymore. The middle is the flower of a Jade Plant (Crassula ovata) flourishing in benign neglect in my bathroom window. Guess why I saw the flower.

I’m getting better at matching up pixel/picture size so the pics show up better on the main page (an annoying WordPress quirk), but as always, click to enbiggen: the smaller images don’t do justice.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Jenn Jilks on Wednesday 15 December 2010 - 1450

    I love that, ‘potentially older’!
    The falling snow is a bit irritating for someone whose eye glass Rx is off, they are on order, but that’s just middle-aged me!
    (When do I move from ‘middle aged’ to old?!
    I don’t want to live to be 100. I’m just sayin’!
    I’ve seen 90-somethings in LTC and it isn’t pretty.

Leave a Reply

