If Only RNs were Valued the Way Pro Athletes Are

An advertising campaign produced last month by the Ontario Nurses Association, the provincial nurses union. Be sure to check out the radio ads at ONA’s site: they’re cute rather than funny. The point is valid, if a bit over-dramatized by the ads: what’s the proper value of nurses in the social, cultural and, I have to add, financial sense?

, ,

  1. #1 by The Nerdy Nurse on Saturday 15 January 2011 - 1712

    This makes me want to move to Ontario… that and I hear that when you have baby in Canada you get a year off from work, and that sounds sweet.

    • #2 by torontoemerg on Saturday 15 January 2011 - 2004

      First 37 1/2 weeks at full pay, then the remainder at 55%. Having worked in both countries, definitely prefer Canada — but I am biased.

  2. #3 by Raquel on Saturday 15 January 2011 - 1719

    I freakin love thiem!

  3. #4 by Raquel on Saturday 15 January 2011 - 1720

    Oops. I mean them. I’m so excited about it that I can’t spell :)

  4. #5 by Cartoon Characters on Saturday 15 January 2011 - 2018

    I have often wondered why so much attention is given not only to athletes but also movie/tv stars. Why are they valued so much more?
    My husband (American, landed immigrant in Canada) states that he will NEVER move back to the USA and that his life here is SO MUCH BETTER…he says the best is that he will never lose his house or insurance if he becomes ill….and he absolutely loves the benefits here. In my blog I tell the story of how my husband as a little guy had a huge gash that should have been sutured, and how he didn’t tell his folks because he knew they couldn’t afford to have it looked at or treated by an MD.
    I lived in California for 5 yrs and prefer Canada too.

  5. #6 by Kim on Sunday 16 January 2011 - 1702

    I think nurses are paid fairly. Athletes and celebrities are way overpaid. Why? So that the elites have a taller stick with which to compare their own renumeration, drive their incomes through the ceiling. How many times have you heard a politician or CEO use pro hockey players salary to justify their own raises?

    Who should top the wage scale? Those whose work provides the greatest good to society? Health care practitioners, farmers, innovators who engineer more healthy and efficient systems, even the artist provides a greater service to society than athletes. Or the lowly paid cook, for that matter. But then, I’m not a nurse. I have been a cook and a farmer though and been rewarded by poverty. Do you feel underpaid, fairly paid or overpaid?

    • #7 by torontoemerg on Sunday 16 January 2011 - 1730

      The standard answer I give is that I’m paid well, but perhaps not paid my worth — which is true, I suppose of the vast majority.

  6. #8 by Kim on Sunday 16 January 2011 - 2302

    I agree with your assessment. Given the 12 hour shifts, the life and death decisions, the pure physical trauma with regards to lifting or restraining patients, the education debtload, there probabley is room for improvement in the nursing payscale. However, the same could be said of farmers, when you think of the financial risk undertaken, the investment in education in stewardship and the benefit to society as a whole, shouldn’t they also command similar wages?

  7. #9 by Pat on Tuesday 15 March 2011 - 0841

    I don’t like the fact that nurses are comparing themselves to sports athletes. You ARE valued by the people you do work for. I think nurses do a fantastic job and I think they should get paid a great deal for what they do.

    I do not like the sports athlete comparison in these ads. I think it is a very stupid approach to getting noticed by the public. Get a real ad that shows your worth, don’t try and compare yourselves to something that is completely unrelated to your work.

  1. I'm a Nursing Pro, Now Where's My Trading Care

Leave a Reply

