“Elegy for an Old Grey Cat”

[A rerun. Originally posted 23/09/2009]

My old grey cat died today.
I thought he might when I went to work,
And paused by the couch where he lay
Panting, and stroked his matted fur, and when he mewed
I said good-bye.

I drove away, then got the call, “He’s gone —
I held him close when he died.”
And against the shining light of fall I cried
For an old grey cat we loved, perhaps too much, too well.

O God who minds the ways of men and mice,
And sees each sparrow fall (it’s said)
Have a thought, or care, or hope
For our old grey cat, well-loved, who’s dead

 

  1. #1 by Anonymous on Wednesday 09 February 2011 - 2055

    This poem makes me cry because it reminds me of my kitty who was old, gray and loved a whole lot. I miss that sweet little furball.

    -Maha

Leave a Reply

