Bad Nurse! Bad!

I guess my venting, raging post the other day offended and/or ticked some people off, or at least the use of the strong language did. No sooner had I posted my screed than no fewer then five Twitter followers immediately dumped me, and I lost a couple of email subscribers to boot. (I’m losing sleep.)

Good nurses with pretensions of seriousness in all things nursey don’t swear. Especially in print. (They may mildly curse — darn it all — if they happen to break a nail, but never in front of patients, children, or their mothers.) Or so I have been informed by good, serious nurses.

I confess. I am a bad nurse. I swear. I sometimes have been known to swear in the clinical setting — O, the horrors! My Catholic-hospital-trained nursing instructors would be appalled. I also used to smoke, I wear scented products on occasion, and have been known to tipple a Cab Sauv.

I guess the point, if there is one, is that most times I can dress up the gripe-du-jour in a way that demonstrates gold-standard nursing practice. But being human, sometimes what you get is honesty, raw and unvarnished. Sorry.

Actually, no, I’m not sorry. Being Canadian, I just felt I had to apologize for something. If I were truly sorry, I would promise never to do it again, and to reform my sinning ways. This a hint.

Anyway, I’m very cranky. A few weeks among the heathen in middle and upper management, and I am now convinced they all worship Satan Satan worships them. The general snake-pitishness of it all makes one a little breathless.

Also, here’s a little song I like to really annoy a few more readers, because crankiness is something we need to share, and I’m all about sharing.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by cartoon characters on Wednesday 15 June 2011 - 1313

    I wouldn’t lose sleep over it. You will gain even more followers down the line.

    And no, I am not a Liberal or NDP – BUT ….I agree strongly with Vancouver’s In Site… and believe that not only should marijuana be decriminalized – it should be legalized. Yes I am Christian, but not in the conservative way. I have an open mind and do take the side of pro-choice…..there isn’t really a political party that fits what I believe.

    I was upset about this last forced election because I believe that politicians should be forced to work together and a minority government, although maybe less efficient, will temper the extremes that exist in both parties.

    Carry on with your rants. That’s the beauty of free speech.

    The dropped followers are just exercising their freedoms also…..and you can’t please everyone.

    I did laugh, though, about your statement – “being Canadian, I just had to apologize about something”…… :)

  2. #2 by Jenn Jilks on Wednesday 15 June 2011 - 1502

    Funny how one feels bad when followers drop you. They may never comment. They are lurkers. If so, you’d think they’d comment. You’re allowed to be cranky. You’re allowed to swear.
    Keep up the great posts.

  3. #3 by Jenn Jilks on Wednesday 15 June 2011 - 1503

    P.S. If you didn’t care, you wouldn’t get angry. If you didn’t care, you wouldn’t be trying to make a difference. I love how women criticize one another. Oh, sorry, guess that was critical! Nope. Sarcastic.
    Me bad.

  4. #4 by evilscientist on Wednesday 15 June 2011 - 1644

    Just remember that it’s your blog…. you write about what you want and in the manner that you want to. If people don’t like it, they can leave. Life is way too short to worry about what other people think about what they think of your writing or blogging.

    For what it’s worth though, I didn’t find the article offensive in the least and it just reminds us all of the politics and bureaucracy that hounds us all at work and life.

  5. #5 by lyndamo on Wednesday 15 June 2011 - 2204

    What is wrong with colorful language ?~! Sending a hearty “hell’s afire & waiting for us” !~!

  6. #6 by appalbarry on Thursday 16 June 2011 - 1657

    Ah – fuck ’em.. oops – did I say that out loud?

    We need MORE loud outspoken people, or at least more INTELLIGENT loud outspoken people.

    FWIW I recently purged my Twitter and RSS feeds of virtually everything that had been consuming my waking hours. Your blog is one of very few that remained.

  7. #8 by atyourcervix on Saturday 18 June 2011 - 2236

    meh…..colorful language? Barely. Fuck em, Hell, I really pissed some people off on my blog with my last post that included a bit about birth control being needed in a 20 year old who already had give children. I apparently, really, really lit some fires under some people’s asses. ZOMG! Look at that! Colorful language! xoxo

  8. #9 by Anonymous on Sunday 19 June 2011 - 0931

    I for one love your honestly! Those who complain and left your blog and twitter accts are aware you write the truth too! Good luck to them. More luck to you in carrying on in an environment that should be zero tolerance for bullying, sassing, humiliation and nitpicking…geez! I love the truth in your posts, the sense of humour you maintain, because underneath it I read and feel the passion you have for people…and how you are making a difference.
    Natrice

  9. #10 by Wanderer on Sunday 19 June 2011 - 2318

    I’m a nurse, not a saint. People need to get over it. I once asked an interviewee (who had been a sailor, natch) if they could curse like a sailor. The fact she said yes, and later demonstrated it well, earned her a job (that and her mad skills).

  10. #11 by neeroc on Saturday 25 June 2011 - 0117

    I’m going to guess it was the bitches that were tearing you apart behind your back…either way, my favorite expression in these situations is, ‘tell’em to piss up a rope’

Leave a comment