I’ve Been Selected for a Not-So-Clever Marketing Scheme

This blog has been named as one of the  “20 Best Blog for Nurses” by that august institution, Jacksonville University School of Nursing. My jaded, cynical, shrivelled heart tells me it’s a trojan horse marketing scheme, since the button they emailed me links to information on their MScN program, and there doesn’t seem to a “20 Best Blogs for Nurses” page on their site.

I’m curious. How many other nurse bloggers got a note saying they were one of the 20 Best?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Jenn Jilks on Thursday 23 June 2011 - 1824

    I get this kind of thing all the time! They can increase their web presence, called SEO, search engine optimisation, by connecting to your blog. By linking your blog (with high page ranks) and their webpage, by being connected to you it increases their page rank in Google searches.

    You can see, whenever you do a search, you get the dumbest links. Very frustrating. They use SEO tactics.

  2. #2 by undergrad RN on Thursday 23 June 2011 - 1902

    Me too….haha. I was “honored” especially because they addressed me as “Dear twenty-something Canadian nurse” which is the first line of my About Me.

    I got another one from some other company yesterday too. I am just rolling in awards at the moment, unfortunately it’s not from anyone whose opinion I value…

  3. #3 by atyourcervix on Thursday 23 June 2011 - 2127

    Yep, I get things like this all the time. I’ve gotten several emails specifically from Jacksonville U, and I have also looked at their site to no avail to find such “list”.

  4. #4 by shrtstormtrooper on Friday 24 June 2011 - 1613

    Yeah, I got this. Couldn’t find their blog anywhere on the site, so I ignored it.

  5. #5 by Joni Watson on Sunday 26 June 2011 - 1807

    Ditto that.

  6. #6 by nurseXY on Friday 08 July 2011 - 0039

    Yep, I got it.

  7. #7 by nurseXY on Friday 08 July 2011 - 0047

    PS: I just doctored the embedded links in the the badge to lead right back to my own blog. **Snicker**

  8. #8 by CC on Friday 08 July 2011 - 2143

    Nurse XY, you are so crafty. I like your style! :)

Leave a comment