Hotocalypse

Hot enough for ya?

For you non-metric types, that 38C is an even 100F. I think I speak for most of my fellow Canadians when I say, “WTF?”

I suppose it’s redundant and unnecessary to add that staying out of the sun, finding a cool, air-conditioned place to hole up in (if possible) and drinking plenty of fluids (alcohol or tea or coffee don’t count in this regard as they tend to dehydrate) is the best way to prevent heat exhaustion or stroke. I really don’t want to see you in my emergency all floppy, syncopal and dehydrated because you’ve decided Thursday is the best day to practice for the triathlon or because you think the lawn needs a little trim before the weekend.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Knot Tellin on Wednesday 20 July 2011 - 1023

    Indeed.

    Here in Jerusalem (Israel), where it rarely gets above 30 degrees C it went up to 43 degrees last week. That’s 109 degrees F.

    I’ve filed a complaint.

  2. #2 by TheNerdyNurse on Wednesday 20 July 2011 - 1412

    Pretty Much Everywhere it’s going to be hot : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QLSRMoKKS0

  3. #3 by Maha on Thursday 21 July 2011 - 0211

    I’m boycotting this heat by catching a flight to Seattle in the morning. I’m also very happy that I managed to give away tomorrow’s shift to make this happen because I was supposed to be in resus and I’m sure you can guess where all the floppy syncopal people go to..

  4. #4 by nurseXY on Saturday 30 July 2011 - 1749

    Hehe, we’re working on day #29 straight of >100* F.

  5. #5 by CC on Sunday 31 July 2011 - 1037

    is it summer yet? I am in Vancouver, and we have yet to see more than one day of slightly warmer weather….. :(

    I guess I shouldn’t complain!

Leave a comment