Choking on Your Own Vomit

Aspirating while more-or-less obtunded because of alcohol poisoning is not pretty, and I’ve seen a few VSAs related to chocking on your own puke that had very poor outcomes. Hence my interest in this PSA from the British Red Cross. (Facebook here.)

[Via.]

I’m actually a little skeptical an adolescent/young adult on some colossal piss-up is going to help their BFF into the recovery position  to protect their airway, even if the ad is presented in a way that doesn’t presume to hector or nag, if only because selfless atruism is not the defining characteristic of the age group — or any age group, for that matter, as I noted yesterday. Or maybe I’m just being the old and jaded ED RN.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sean on Monday 22 August 2011 - 2200

    This leaves all kinds of words swirling in my mouth. I’m not sure how to feel about this one. Wow.

  2. #2 by evilscientist on Monday 22 August 2011 - 2359

    I will note here that every June I teach first aid to the students in my class (adolescents dealing with addiction issues). Generally a group that acts in a manner that doesn’t suggest altruism. Given that a large portion of these kids have a large street involvement you’d expect even less.

    Every couple of years or so I have one coming back to the treatment centre tell me that they were in some situation on the street where first aid was needed, often by a stranger, and they were not only grateful for learning the skills, but actually used them. When I hear this I think that there is truly hope left for humanity.

  3. #3 by TheNerdyNurse on Sunday 28 August 2011 - 1053

    This is likely something that most partying youths never even stop to consider.

Leave a comment