A Little Nurse Bashing to Start Your Day

For breakfast, how about some outrageous libel from physician-blogger Terry Simpson (Twitter: @DocSimpson). File this under how not to blog about a serious issue in health care:

The Arizona State Nursing board has asked that this nurse [Amanda Trujillo] undergo a psychiatric evaluation.  The board is charged with protecting the public. The public needs to be protected from “angels of death,” and needs to know if this is the act of an illiterate nurse, or someone who will tend to rogue behavior beyond the bounds of the profession.

Screen shot of yourdoctorsorders.com. Note the gratuitous "psychiatric evaluation" reference.

Note to Terry: I’m not quite clear on how likening a nurse to a mass murderer is not libellous. Or a constructive contribution to an important debate on patient autonomy and nursing practice.* Can you elaborate?

___________

*Because I think you do raise some issues in your post worthy of debate and discussion — though I might strenuously disagree. You seem to want a serious conversation, but you end up being an ass. Too bad.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Greg Mercer on Thursday 02 February 2012 - 2246

    Thanks for the link – I perused it, and gave him the kind of feedback that only a Philosophy major (BA 1989) might muster – see what you think.

  2. #2 by Lori on Friday 03 February 2012 - 0059

    I read your post after I’d already posted a reply to “Dr Terry”. I also pointed out that him saying that she had her license revoked and removed and however else he wants to say it, could potentially be libelous as well! I’m interested to see how much of my actual comment gets moderated through…though I didn’t think to take a copy for myself! Thanks for posting!

  3. #3 by RehabRN on Saturday 04 February 2012 - 2027

    I did the same. He must be a GI selling lapbands. (So is a relative of mine, but he didn’t feel the need to blog about a nurse.)

    I just got that ol’ marketing feeling. He just wanted some more visibility for his blog. Who’d know who he was if he didn’t weigh in “as a surgeon” trying to right the wrong of a bunch of RPIA nurses.

    I ain’t buyin’ what you’re sellin’, Doc.

    • #4 by torontoemerg on Saturday 04 February 2012 - 2058

      Heh, I didn’t think of the crass commercial angle. Naive me — and I took the bait.

Leave a comment