Florence Nightingale: Images and Words

It may seem a strange principle to enunciate as the very first requirement in a hospital that it should do the sick no harm.

Notes on Nursing 3rd Edition (1863)

How very little can be done under the spirit of fear.

As quoted in The Book of Positive Quotations (2007) by John Cook

No man, not even a doctor, ever gives any other definition of what a nurse should be than this — ‘devoted and obedient’. This definition would do just as well for a porter. It might even do for a horse. It would not do for a policeman.

Notes on Nursing (1860)

Were there none who were discontented with what they have, the world would never reach anything better.

Cassandra (1860)


Poetry and imagination begin life.

Cassandra (1860)

The world is put back by the death of every one who has to sacrifice the development of his or her peculiar gifts to conventionality.

Cassandra (1860)

Florence at Scutari

Hospitals are only an intermediate stage of civilization, never intended at all even to take in the whole sick population.

Sick-Nursing and Health-Nursing (1893)

Now if I were to write a book out of my experience I should begin Women have no sympathy. Yours is the tradition. Mine is the conviction of experience.

Letter to Madame Mohl, dated 13 December 1861

No, no, let each person tell the truth from his own experience.

Letter to Madame Mohl, dated 13 December 1861

You ask me why I do not write something… I think one’s feelings waste themselves in words, they ought all to be distilled into actions and into actions which bring results.

Letter to a friend, quoted in The Life of Florence Nightingale (1913) by Edward Tyas Cook

, ,

  1. #1 by kinds of on Wednesday 08 October 2014 - 0706

    Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and
    gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She put the shell to her ear and screamed.

    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  1. Florence Nightingale: la mujer que redefinió la enfermería -

Leave a comment